Arduino UNO is behaving a bit mysteriously [[ PLEASE read the whole post ]]

Hello World, Myself Aditya. I am studying in std 9 and I have done lot of arduino projects successfully. My Arduino is giving OUTPUTS correctly but is not processing INPUTS very well also the Serial communication is affected. I have made projects using digital sensors, servo motors and stepper motors. Recently I wanted to try a project that will measure time between two digital sensor inputs [ by state change detection] but it didn't work as expected. My Arduino UNO gave signals to the Serial port that my button was 'on' but in reality it wasn't. I thought that the problem was in my code so I tried the StateChangeDetection code in examples provided in the IDE. But it gave the same OUTPUT. So I removed all the wires connected to the Arduino but still I was getting a message in the Serial port that my button was 'on' for approximately 5 seconds and then messaging stopped. I banged the Arduino on the table [I banged it very lightly] but when I banged it on the table it again started sending messages on the Serial port saying that the button was 'on' but again it was not 'on'. There has been no problem with the Arduino till my previous Servo motor controlling project.

My questions:

1] Do I need to change my Arduino? 2] My Arduino is duplicate. Is the problem because of that? 3] Which projects would you suggest for a newbie of my age? I would really appreciate if someone would give a solution for this mysterious problem.

.....AU

Hi,

I would try a simple sketch that set all pins to output and low, then use a meter to check each pin.

Then I'd set all pins to high and check each pin again.

If you don't have a meter then a 220 ohm resitor and LED connected to one input pin and check all of the other pins for output.