Arduino Uno -- Multiple Inputs & Multiple Outputs

Hi all,

I am new to Arduino & not a programmer by nature. Just working on a DIY project & am having some trouble in writing the code to do what I want. I have an Arduino Uno Rev.3 & I want to do the following:

-have 2 separate inputs, on analog input pins 2 & 3 -have 2 separate PWM outputs, on digital pins 5 & 6

Right now, I can get the code to work perfectly for one input/output at a time, using the following:

int ledPin = 5; // LED connected to digital pin 5

int analogPin = 2; // potentiometer connected to analog pin 2

int val = 0; // variable to store the read value

void setup()

{

pinMode(ledPin, OUTPUT); // sets the pin as output

}

void loop()

{

val = analogRead(analogPin); // read the input pin

analogWrite(ledPin, val / 4); // analogRead values go from 0 to 1023, analogWrite values from 0 to 255

}

However, when I try to amend the code to account for two inputs & outputs, they don't seem to function independently (i.e. potpin2 ONLY controls output5 & potpin3 only controls output6):

const int ledPin1 = 5; // LED connected to digital pin 5 const int ledPin2 = 6; // LED connected to digital pin 6 const int analogPin1 = 2; // pot1 connected to analog pin 1 const int analogPin2 = 3; // pot2 connected to analog pin 2 int val1 = 0; // variable to store pot1 data int val2 = 1; // variable to store pot2 data

void setup() { pinMode(ledPin1, OUTPUT); // sets pin 5 as output pinMode(ledPin2, OUTPUT); // sets pin 6 as output }

void loop() { val1 = analogRead(analogPin1); // reads the input1 pin analogWrite(ledPin1, val1 / 4); // analogRead values go from 0 to 1023, analogWrite values from 0 to 255 val2 = analogRead(analogPin2); // reads the input2 pin analogWrite(ledPin2, val2 / 4); // analogRead values go from 0 to 1023, analogWrite values from 0 to 255 }

I appreciate any help/insight given! Thanks.