Arduino Uno not detected, need help!

Hi everyone,

I’m a newbie Arduino User, and here’s my problem,

Before:
My Arduino UNO Rev3 has been working fine until yesterday when I tried to control a stepper motor with and a Polulu A4988 module.

Last thing I did before the problem:
I supplied the Uno board from computer with the USB cable and I connected the 5 V power IO of the Arduino to the VDD of the Polulu module. So I’m pretty sure the problem came from that.
I thought the current draw was too high and a regulator has not supported or the USB-UART module burned or something like that.

Now:

• The ON and L leds light permanently (L doesn’t blink anymore)
  • The board is not detected by PC anymore, no plug sound.
  • There are only “serial port” and “COM1” in tools ->port of Arduino IDE while there was “COM3” before when I connected the Arduino
  • Nothing appears in “Ports COM & LPT” and not even “Unknown Device” in Device Manager of Windows (I’m using Windows 7 OS by the way)

What I have already tried:

• Rebooting my computer
  • Uninstalling and reinstalling Arduino IDE and arduino drivers
  • Using another USB port
  • Using another USB cable
  • Using another computer (with Windows 8 OS )
  • Push reset button
  • Using an external power supply
  • Of course unplug and plug Arduino many times
  • Waiting too long time after plugging :slight_smile:

What I suppose:

• The Atmega 328P Microcontroller died
  • The USB-UART IC converter died
  • A voltage regulator associated with USB power supply burned (if it exists on the board)
  • Probably the least bad is a problem with the Arduino bootloader

First attempt Help for the 4th and 2nd supposition:
I want to try to solve the 4th supposition first but I don’t know how to do it. I have neither a programmer nor another Arduino.
However I have a FTDI USB-UART converter cable and I wonder if it is possible to use it to reprogram the bootloader but I don’t know how.