Arduino Uno or Arduino Mega

Hi all,

I am kind of new to the arduino universe but I am quite enthousiast about setting up my first robot. I already have the stuff to create the body and the wheels.

My project : a robot that would be able to interract with its environment : turn in front of an obstacle, make sounds and lights when hearing noise. Stuff like that. Motors (2) should be : Working voltage: 3V ~ 6V Unloads current: ≤200mA @ 6V, ≤150mA @ 3V

Is an arduino uno sufficient or should I buy right now an arduino mega? Do I need another component to power up everything (motor, leds, buzzers)? Do I plug all this to the arduino board or to the breadboard?

If i have the hardware and with some correct coding, could this robot make lights (leds) or am I planning to do something impossible?

Thanks a lot :)

Hi and welcome to this forum.

Being pretty new to Arduino world a robot is already a little challenge. You will be faced with hardware and software issues. But - as you say you are quite enthousiastic about Arduinos - go ahead!

My first remarks to your project: 1. 2 motors might be too less if you want your robot really be responsive. 2 are ok, 4 are better. 2. For your motors you will need motor shields as the Arduino itself is not able to deliver enough power (the current outputs are limited; see this link. 3. You will need at least two collision avoidance sensors (front and rear); this could be either ultrasonics or infrareds)

Do I need another component to power up everything (motor, leds, buzzers)?

Yes: at least motor shield(s); depending on the number and power of leds, you might need a kind of booster (in the easiest approach normal transistor(s) plus base resistor(s) will do); afaik the buzzer doesn't draw that much current, so the Arduino might be powerful enough to drive the buzzer - but look at the datasheet, to make sure you don't stress the Arduino's output.

Is an arduino uno sufficient or should I buy right now an arduino mega?