Arduino Uno R3 code questions

Hello fellow programmers,

I am very new with this concept of programing. I absolutely know nothing about programming.

What I am doing is using a EM-18 RFID reader connected to a Uno R3 for a model railway inventory system. Whereby the reader is placed under the track and RFID tag placed in each piece of rolling stock using the RFID code to identify each piece of stock. This simple code works well but each time I scan a tag it adds it on to the end of the tag id before it. for example.

What I would like to see after each tag is scanned the next scanned tag will go on a new line.

and so on for each scan

the code I am running is as follows:

int count = 0;
void setup()
{
Serial.begin(9600);
Serial.println(“Scan RFID Tag:”);
}
void loop()
{
if(Serial.available())
{
count = 0; // Reset count to zero// Keep reading Byte by Byte from the Buffer till the Buffer is empty
{
char input = Serial.read();
Serial.print(input);
count++; //
delay(5); //
}

}
}

Change this

Serial.print(input);

to this

Serial.println(input);

Serial.println() adds a line-feed

And thank you for presenting your question so clearly.

...R

Thanks Robin,

now the code puts each digit on a new line. eg

etc

your thoughts?

Then you need to read the number of characters for a single code and then do a line with Serial.println()

How will you know when you have all the characters for a code?

You might look at the Arduino code in this demo to see how to save all the data into a variable before printing any of it. There are more basic examples here. There is also an Arduino function readBytesUntil() that may be useful - but it blocks until it is satisfied.

…R

Typically the RFID reader should put a special character before and/or after the ID. Try changing running this code:

void setup() {
   Serial.begin(9600);
   Serial.println("Scan RFID Tag:");
}
void loop()
{
   if(Serial.available()) {
         char input = Serial.read();
         Serial.print(input);