Arduino Uno R3 with "long pins" - Hardware difference

Hi,

I am new to Arduino and just purchased my first two boards. The boards are both Arduino Uno R3, where on of them is with a standard microcontroller with leaded pins and the other board is with a SMD type micro.

When I ordered the boards one of them was mentioned with the text "with long pin's". I didn't pay to close attention to this at the time of ordering.

I also bought an ethernet shield and now I suddently see some differences. The UNO R3 with the long pins doesn't have the standart ICSP connector to interface with the ethernet shield. On this board the ICSP connector faces downward from the solder side of the board.

What is the purpose of having this ICSP connector facing downwards?

As they are both UNO R3 boards I anticipated that they where compatible. I have googled various sited but can't find an answer to this yet.

So you can put a shield onto the board and still use the ISP headers even when the shield covers it up on the top, I think. Most shields don't actually use the ISP header, but instead, if they connect to it, just act as pass-through. Does the ethernet shield actually need those pins? I'd be surprised if it did.

Did they adjust the pinout, or is it mirrored?

DrAzzy:
Does the ethernet shield actually need those pins? I'd be surprised if it did.

It does, because it's the only way to connect to the SPI interface on the UNO, MEGA, and Leonardo with one set of pins. On the UNO those pins are connected to Pins 11-13. On the MEGA they are connected to Pins 51-53, and on the Leonardo they are the only pins connected to the SPI interface.