Arduino UNO stopped responding

Hi,

I’m a newbie with the Arduino.
I got a new one just today and I played with it for a couple of hours (uploading example sketches and connecting a potentiometer and a LED) with no problems.
It’s an Arduino UNO and I used a MacBook Pro with Snow Leopard.

After a while I decided to test the Nokia5110 screen and I followed this tutorial to connect everything up: http://blog.3d-logic.com/2012/08/26/digital-clock-on-arduino-uno-with-nokia-lcd-display/
Before uploading the sketch from the same tutorial, I turned the arduino on, just to see if the screen would turn on.
Nothing happened, except for the power LED that went on as usual. I thought that I couldn’t see anything on screen probably because the sketch that was running at that time didn’t have anything to do with Nokia5110.
So, I loaded the sketch into the IDE and then I clicked Upload and I got an error saying that there was no device connected (or something similar).
I unplugged and plugged the Arduino again, but from that time on it stopped being recognized by my Mac.
I tried many things, I unplugged the Nokia screen and all the cables and jumpers, but nothing.
Then I tried with my iMac, but the Arduino is basically invisible to all my computers. I tried with another USB cable. Nothing.

When I plug it in, the power LED turns on and that’s it.
I tried the loop-back test described in this forum, but nothing.

I’m afraid I short-circuited it when I turned it on the first time while connected to the Nokia screen. I guess I broke it. I don’t see any other explanation.

What do you think guys?

Thx,
Marco

Looks like a problem with the communications controller. The tutorial you linked does not use digital pins 0 and 1 (RX/TX), and the screen runs on 3.3V, which shouldn't be a major problem even if it was accidentally connected (for a short while) to the wrong digital pin. So perhaps you have somehow erased the firmware but the circuitry has not been damaged.