Arduino Uno + WiFly + ID-20 RFID Reader / Facebook RFID Like Thingy

Hello there,

First of all, I am definitely a beginner here. I have minimal hardware and software knowledge and trying to build something with a developer friend. I bought my first Arduino a year ago and since then I am trying to build the same thing from time to time..

My goal here is to confirm my workflow, parts I use and get advice.

My project goal is to reproduce the well-known Facebook RFID Like Thingy. We have developed the software, built up the hardware and everything is working almost fine. I like to be sure if this is the best way in my situation or if this workflow is stable enough.

to sum it up

We have Arduino Uno + WiFly Shield from Sparkfun + Innovations ID-20 RFID Reader + a Led running. Then written two softwares named as Terminal and Nodes. Terminal software runs on a pc with a rfid reader and a Processing application which reads the tag then pushes it to a browser to load Facebook login to pair a users account with that specific rfid tag. The other software compiled into Arduino Uno, which connects to wifi and the reader stays ready to read a tag. When a tag gets in to the range of reader, Arduino reads the tag and pushes it to server to handle the server-side processes.

So we like this protoype to be wireless and mobile as possible. And we need it to run as perfect as possible in a 1.000 square meter hall room with enough strength/signal. (I say wireless because we really don't want to lay out cables allover 1.000 sq/mt)

• There is this fact of battery which is drained by WiFly, what is the best way to let Arduino stay alive long enough like 20 hours a day? Datasheet says WiFly features "Ultra-low power - 4uA sleep, 40mA Rx, 210mA Tx (max)" (I will leave it on whole day tomorrow with a 9V battery and see how long it will stay alive. While developing it drained some batteries but I didn't pay attention to power, it wasn't our priority at that time..)