Arduino UNO with LCD 2x16. Weird characters after some time in operation

Hi Arduino Forum,

I'm new to the Arduino world and to the world of coding.

The problem I'm having is that after some time of normal operation the screen goes weird. Random letters, numbers, and characters move on the screen really fast.

My setup is a flow meter that meters our water usage in the house, connected to the meter is the Arduino Uno and the display shield. All Powered by 230V to 5V USB wall socket adapter. We sometimes have power spikes in our area and at first I immediately thought that this was the cause, but apparently not, because I've tested and external battery to power the system and the problem still occurs.

My components are as follows: Arduino Uno (Factory assembled) ARDLCD216 Display shield (Factory assembled) Adafruit Brass flow meter (Factory assembled)

What I've tried so far: Three different Uno's (Factory assembled) Two different displays (Factory assembled) http://www.partco.biz/verkkokauppa/product_info.php?cPath=5&products_id=10155&language=en External battery source (Self made) Different cables between meter and Arduino. On breadboard and off breadboard.

Now I don't know much about coding, but I did manage to get a percentage text and a math equation into the code and the code to display it on the screen. I would really appreciate if somebody had the time to glance at the code and see if there are any mistakes or find ways of doing it better.

Here is the code that I've copied from adafruit.com:

#include "LiquidCrystal.h"
LiquidCrystal lcd(8, 9, 4, 5, 6, 7);

#define FLOWSENSORPIN 2

// count how many pulses!
volatile uint16_t pulses = 0;
// track the state of the pulse pin
volatile uint8_t lastflowpinstate;
// you can try to keep time of how long it is between pulses
volatile uint32_t lastflowratetimer = 0;
// and use that to calculate a flow rate
volatile float flowrate;
// Interrupt is called once a millisecond, looks for any pulses from the sensor!