Arduino Uno with Rotary Encoder to measure RPM

I need to make a tachometer for my capstone class, I have never used arduino before. But I have been playing around and it is pretty cool what they can do.

Materials:
Arduino Uno
Rotary Encoder (24 clicks per rotation)
LCD
Small DC Motor

Object:
Use rotary encoder to measure RPMs of a small DC motor, and display it on the LCD screen.

Code:
This code is from Arduino RPM Counter / Tachometer
/*

int ledPin = 13; // IR LED connected to digital pin 13
volatile byte rpmcount;
unsigned int rpm;
unsigned long timeold;

// include the library code:
#include <LiquidCrystal.h>
// initialize the library with the numbers of the interface pins
LiquidCrystal lcd(8,9,4,5,6,7);

void rpm_fun()
{
//Each rotation, this interrupt function is run twice, so take that into consideration for
//calculating RPM
//Update count
rpmcount++;
}

void setup()
{
lcd.begin(16, 2); // intialise the LCD

//Interrupt 0 is digital pin 2, so that is where the IR detector is connected
//Triggers on FALLING (change from HIGH to LOW)
attachInterrupt(0, rpm_fun, FALLING);

//Turn on IR LED
pinMode(ledPin, OUTPUT);
digitalWrite(ledPin, HIGH);

rpmcount = 0;
rpm = 0;
timeold = 0;
}

void loop()
{
//Update RPM every second
delay(10);
//Don’t process interrupts during calculations
detachInterrupt(0);
//Note that this would be 60*1000/(millis() - timeold)rpmcount if the interrupt
//happened once per revolution instead of twice. Other multiples could be used
//for multi-bladed propellers or fans
rpm = 60
1000/(millis() - timeold)*rpmcount;
timeold = millis();
rpmcount = 0;

//Print out result to lcd
lcd.clear();
lcd.print(“RPM=”);
lcd.print(rpm);

//Restart the interrupt processing
attachInterrupt(0, rpm_fun, FALLING);
}

Help:
I do not understand how the programming will work with the rotary encoder, how will the interrupts work.
I cannot use an IR tachometer

Please do not be to critical on me as this is the first time using arduino