Arduino unsigned long to Processing

I'm trying to use an Arduino with micros() to time how long it takes a signal to arrive. This generally seems to work with the serial monitor, but I've no (good) idea how to send that unsigned long to Processing in a way it can understand it. The low level representation of variables seems different between the languages, the serial print\read functions seem to be "helpfully" encoding things into characters.... and I'm fairly new to this to boot. Can anyone tell me where to start? If there's an example for this somewhere I can probably teach myself off of that, but as near as I can tell this isn't covered anywhere.

For further details: I won't be needing a full unsigned long for the time intervals I'm looking for, and would prefer to convert the difference to an int or something smaller like that to minimize serial traffic. I suppose I can also divide by 4 to save space if I need to as that's the lowest resolution micros() returns anyways.

PS: I find it sad that the spell checker on this forum doesn't recognize Arduino... I wonder if there's a way to add to it's dictionary.

but I've no (good) idea how to send that unsigned long to Processing in a way it can understand it.

How are you sending it? What problems are you having understanding it?

An unsigned long, even in microseconds covers a very long period (well over an hour) - are you sure your need that kind of precision?

You could send the values as ASCII decimal, or ASCII hex - whatever you're comfortable with.

"How are you sending it?" Currently with Serial.print