Arduino USB upload stops half way through uploading with timeout_error

Hi All,

Help Please!

The attached code compiles fine :slight_smile: but when I upload it to my Mega2560 it starts to upload OK and then avrdude suddenly stops waiting for a response from the Arduino =(, I am running Windows 7, and have tested this sketch on two seperate arduino boards on two seperate PC’s with exactly the same results. I using the standard with Arduino IDE to compile and upload.

This code has been generated by a windows program for converting bitmaps into an LED Strip lightwand (this is the LPD8806 version). The sketch appears to work fine for some bitmaps and not others so I am guessing it is something to do with the a sequence of values in the Long arrays - but which one???

Thanks in advance

Phil

TestSketch1.pde (36.1 KB)

I'm no expert, still learning the Arduino language and environment, but if I were you I'd start by halving the size of the program (maybe the data part) to see if it is a data size problem.

Then slowly remove parts till the program loads.

I assume other simpler sketches work for you?

long lCntr[1];

? A one element array. How useful.

long buffer[STRIP_LENGTH];
long tmpbuffer[STRIP_LENGTH+1];

Why are these different sizes?

Hi,

The "long lCntr[1]" is because of using it as a pointer , I am not that familar with the PROGMEM statements and my 'C' programming knowledge is about 10 years out of date so I was just following some examples

Each strip_colors_x[] arrays holds a very simple compression of the LED's to light on a 96 LED light strip, basically making up a Bitmap of 96 high and 96 wide.

The first long in each strip_colors_x[] tells me how many different color elements are on each array line.
The rest of the 32bit longs on each array are broken down into :
First 8 bits = number of times to repeat the color
next 24 bit = Red,Green,Blue