Arduino viable for permanent installation?

Hello Arduino community,

Arduino hardware and software is amazing for creating and prototyping. I have utilized Arduino to help me create a Rain-Gauge project and a Cup-Anemometer project. Now that my projects are done I am interested in implementing them on my roof for continuous weather monitoring. Since I have never done this before, I don't have insight towards how people generally go about implementing finished projects.

So here are my questions. Would I have to create some sort of dedicated microcontroller circuit? or Is the Arduino plenty Viable for implementation use?(i hope so) Does it have any trouble continuously running a program for long periods of time? or is Arduino more for design purposes and proof of concept only?

I have heard that utilizing code such as "watch-dog-timers" to reset the program when things go wrong are necessary for long term implementation. But is this enough to categorize the Arduino as Adequate for continuous operation?

Basically I want to know if I implement my Arduino project for continuous use, will I be constantly having to restart the arduino and reset the code. Or does the Arduino handle long term operation pretty well?

Thanks in advance for your insight, - jd

or Is the Arduino plenty Viable for implementation use?(i hope so)

Yes.

Does it have any trouble continuously running a program for long periods of time?

No.

I have heard that utilizing code such as "watch-dog-timers" to reset the program when things go wrong are necessary for long term implementation.

I've never used a watchdog timer. I guess it depends on the kinds of things that might go wrong in your particular application. It would have to be the kind of failure where the processor (and related circuitry) is still functioning but for some reason it just needs a reset.