Arduino webclient unable to reach webserver on internal network

Hello,

I am new to Arduino and trying out some of the examples. I have a MXChip IoT DevKit board (AZ6133).
I was trying out the sample code "WebClient" with some web sites and some internal web server addresses (my NAS). While the web client works OK in call web sites on the internet, it cannot reach the internal ones however.
My conclusion: the sample code is fine, as it is able to setup Wifi and make a Http call (and receiving reply). There must be something wrong in the network then?

I first checked my router (Ziggo ConnectBox) - it appears that my board has been assigned an internal IP.
I can also ping from my router to the Arduino board, but I cannot ping from my NAS (on the same internal network) to Arduino. When I try a traceroute, it only shows time-outs however.
When I setup a Web Server (using the sample) on my Arduino, I get the same behaviour, but I can reach the Arduino from my local PC (Mac). Still NAS is not able to ping to Arduino.

Could it be that the Arduino is going straight to internet, without being able to re-enter my internal network (which seems logical, but why would it go to the internet anyway, if I am trying to reach a local network IP)?
Any help is appreciated! Thank you in advance,

Maurice

You didn't provide enough information about your network to track the problem down.

How is the NAS connected? By Ethernet or via WiFi? If you connect a notebook to the WiFi can you connect to the NAS from there?

Your router seems to be an OEM rebranding of your internet provider. Can you provide a link to it's manual in English?

Hello Pylon,

Thank you for your quick reply! Sorry for missing some important info in my previous post; you’re right!
My router is endeed an OEM, and it turns out to be an Arris. I found the English manual here:

My nas (Synology DS415+) is connected via Ethernet wire, like my pc desktop.