Arduino Wifi ChatServer Failure

First of all apologies, I'm fairly new to all this but have managed to, so far install the IDE and follow the site based examples up to WifiChatServer. Whereupon I'm stumped.

The problem is.... I have installed the software (changed the WPA login details to my own) and have established a wireless connection. It's confirmed an IP address and sits waiting for a connection to be made.

I've opened telnet, pinged the IP and had a response. But when I ssh the IP all I get is...

ssh: connect to host 192.168.1.7 port 22: Connection refused

[Process completed]

I've also tried scanning the ports available on the address, but all it does is come back saying "Port Scan complete' but no further details.

Now I suspect that my Wireless Airport Extreme to be the issue (but I'm not sure). I've tried switching off my firewall but this seems to make no difference. Do I have to enable the communication/port manually? Is there any other way of checking theAarduino is connected? I've tried iStumbler but it doesn't seem to show. Not sure if it should, or is an indication of the problem

Any help in pointing me in the right direction greatly appreciated, as I've spent a fortnight trying things and scratching my head? If I'm being a numpty, happy for someone to show me the error of my ways!

Thanks

Hi Doc, I haven't played with any of the ethernet shields yet but I am not completely inexperienced at networking and looking at your post makes me want to ask a couple of questions:

Which ethernet shield are you playing with? (not sure it will make a lot of difference to me but might entice other posters to reply if more info like this...)

What does your sketch look like right now?

Why do you think it should be capable of SSH? (Is there something mentioning SSH regarding the shield? Does part of the sketch you have uploaded claim to be an openssh-server implentation?)

Try the below client test code without making changes to your router’s normal setup.