Arduino Wireless Options

Hey guys!

I've seen other topics on the same subject but after reading them I thought I'd make one of my own so that we can get a discussion started specific to my case.

So, I'm pretty new to Arduino and electronics in general. I've worked with software (games, graphics) for quite a while though. Me and two of my friends have decided to add some RC functionality and also maybe a little automation to a hovercraft that another friend of ours created. The only thing it's got is a basic drive mechanism, no 'logic', and has physical switches to control the fans. We're gonna replace these with relays or MOSFETs, connect to Arduino and have some fun. :p

Well, I decided we'd use Arduino because it seems very flexible, has a large community and seems well supported.

I was wondering about which wireless technology we should use. We want to be able to control it wirelessly with a laptop. The options I've come up with so far are Xbee, WiFi, and apc220. I looked at Bluetooth too, but I kinda ruled that out due to price and short range.

We're hoping for at least 300 feet, but higher range wouldn't hurt. We want to be able to send simple commands like 'forward', 'reverse', 'stop', 'setSpeed 30' (encoded into a smaller format using as few bits as possible of course). The translation of these into lower level commands like 'fan1off' or such will be done in the Arduino. This would allow the sensor logic to use this interface as well. Also, the Arduino should be able to return data to the laptop like sensor data ('distance' or such), battery remaining (if possible) and so on.