Arduino with Mosfet !!! need help to control duty cycle.

Hello im a mechanical engineer and im working on controlling an automotive fan using arduino , mosfet and motor driver .

I know that MOSFET can be used as a switch. When sufficient Vgs is applied, MOSFET will turn on and so the load (fan).

This is my understanding of this circuit, please correct me if I’m wrong or missed anything?

5V PWM is a digital signal and by adjusting the duty cycle, I can control the average value.

For 100% duty cycle Average voltage = 5V For 50% duty cycle Average voltage = 2.5V For 0% duty cycle Average voltage = 0V

So in case if i want to control a duty cycle at 20% the voltage will be around 1 from the micro controller. So is there any Mosfet operate betwwen 1-5 V?

Note: i only need the mosfet to control the signal that goes to the driver .. Please recommend me a Mosfet .

So in case if i want to control a duty cycle at 20% the voltage will be around 1 from the micro controller. So is there any Mosfet operate betwwen 1-5 V?

The “average” isn’t important to the MOSFET which is switching between fully-on and fully-off.

The average voltage (and current) does relate directly to the energy sent to the motor to control the speed because the motor won’t start/stop instantly.

A “logic level” MOSFET can be controlled by 5V. You’ll need to find one that can handle the current (Amps) of the motor, and you may need a heatsink.

[u]Here[/u] is an example MOSFET driver circuit.

@DVDdoug
Thanks for your replay. im not controlling the motor directly with the mosfet but im using the mofset to control the signal wire that control the motor driver . to be more clear im using “ground switching” i will attach a picture for the schematic which may help more
for example
analogWrite( pin9, 51);
will set the pin nine at duty cycle of 10% which equal to 1volt but the mosfet only operates at min 2volts
so how i can pass this problem?