Arduino with Puppy Linux

Hi all,

I'm trying to get an Arduino Diecilima board to communicate with Pure Data running on Puppy Linux. My problem seems to be getting the /dev/ttyUSB0 setup. I've already uploaded the Pduino firmware to the board using another PC so I don't nesseseraly need to get the Arduino IDE running on Puppy. I'm a newbie to both Linux and Arduino, I've few searches but with no joy. If anyone could point me in the right direction that would be great!

Thanks Alex

Newer versions of the Linux kernel should include support for the FTDI chip on the Arduino board. Do you see /dev/ttyUSB0 appear when you plug in the board and disappear when you unplug it? Or is there another file that does?

Hi Mellis

Thanks for your reply, /dev/tty/USB0 dosen’t appear within the Arduino IDE once the board is plugged in. However, the IDE isn’t correctly installed as I could not install avr-gcc, so I’m not sure if that’s affecting things. Within the USB viewer I believe the chip is listed as FT232R in red text which appears and disappears when the board is plugged in/unplugged. I’m using Puppy 2.15.

Thanks
Alex

You shouldn’t need avr-gcc if you just need to communicate with the board (not compile programs for it). Does USB viewer tell you which device the FT232 is on (i.e. a file in /dev/)? If you can figure that out, then you should try a test to see if you can get data from the board to the computer. Try (on the Windows machine) uploading the ASCII Table example (in Communication). Then, under Linux, try doing a:

cat

where is the device of the Arduino. You should see data arriving. If that doesn’t work, try:

screen 9600

(you’ll have to press ctrl-a ctrl-\ to exit).

USBview dosen't tell me which device the FT232 is on. I did try this in a terminal

modprobe ftdi_sio

echo ftdi_sio >> /etc/modules

Which was suggested by this post http://www.arduino.cc/cgi-bin/yabb2/YaBB.pl?num=1129025529/15 the text went from red to black and gave me a name ftdi_sio