Arduino Yun and seeed motor shield compatibility question

Hi, I am planning on running some motors from the seeed motor shield with a yun, and I'm new to this so I'm wondering (1) if they're compatible at all (I mean they fit together if you have extra headers, but will it still work) and (2) If they are, I know that you shouldn't power a yun through the 5V pins along the side, but if I have a power source going into the shield would that power be sent through those pins and wreak my yun?

Thanks

Usually motor shields are designed to work with an Arduino Uno or Mega. They power up the Arduino through the Vin power providing 12 V most of the time.

If you use a motor shield that works in this way you will break your Yun. To make it working you need to bend the Vin pin and power your Yun separately.

Additionally, the 5V pin on the Yun is designed to provide power and not for powering the board.

The schematic for that shield is a bit hard to follow. But it looks like it is not trying to power the Yun through the 5V pin as long as J4 is removed. However, in this case, the power from the 5 volt pin (which is an output that is actually closer to 4.5 volts) is being routed to the VCC pin of all of the 4-pin Grove connectors. That means the Yun's limited power is driving all of those connectors. Not the best arrangement.

Maybe it would be best to isolate the 5V pin going to the Yun (clip it off or bend it out of the way) and keep J4 in place. That will power the shield's Grove connectors from the shield's on-board 5V regulator, and let the Yun be powered on its own.

As Angelo said, this is one of those boards that assumes it can power the Arduino by feeding 5V through that pin. The Yun doesn't work that way.

Actually, looking at the Yun schematic, there is a diode that prevents feeding power into the board through the 5V pin. Since this board would be trying to feed 5V to the diode against the Yun's 4.5V, the diode would be reverse biased, and no current would flow.