Arduino

Hi,

I’m very new to using the arduino.

I have a potential project I wish to use the Uno board I have, and I am not sure where to start, maybe somebody can help.

We have a double garage, we have two cars which just fit. When I drive my car in to get maximum space I have to avoid a wooden pillar which is a channel for the garage door, hitting it with the side of my car would have disastrous consequences. Can I use the Arduino to indicate the optimum distance to the pillar, to achieve maximum space between cards, which would save me having to squeeze out of my car.

Any help would be warmly received.

A diagram of the set-up would help us to advise you. It doesn't have to be accurate or to scale, just good enough to get an idea of the problem.
At the moment, anything we suggest would just be a guess, wasting both your and our time.

Henry_Best:
A diagram of the set-up would help us to advise you. It doesn't have to be accurate or to scale, just good enough to get an idea of the problem.
At the moment, anything we suggest would just be a guess, wasting both your and our time.

What about one of those UltraSonic ping sensors, could he mount the sensor on the pillar and a christmas tree in front with green, yellow, red indicators?

Chuck.

I suspect this is not an easy problem to solve and you do not seem to have given the logic of the problem much thought.

What do you think a sensor might be used to detect?
Would the sensor be in the car or in the garage ?
How do you envisage the driver interacting with the data from the sensor?
What happens if the car is moving at an angle ?
etc
etc

I assume this is a problem because the pillar in question is on the passenger side of the car and not easily visible to the driver. One solution is to measure the width of the car and put a marker on the driver side of the garage which gives sufficient clearance from the pillar.

...R

They are called "reversing sensors" or similar.

Use Google.