Arduino101 Using BLE for Two-way Communication with UART Control

I am new to the Arduino world and have jumped in full-tilt to an Arduino101 BLE implementation.

After receiving my Arduino101 in the mail last week, I have gone through all the CurieBLE examples. I have my Arduino101 communicating via BLE with the nRF Toolbox UART on my iPhone.

I find the documentation of RX and TX BLE characteristics and attributes extremely lacking. Making for significant trial and error. I can determine the length of input received from iPhone and extract a single character.

Can someone point me to an example that shows the Arduino101 code that implements rx and tx characteristics and the associated attributes that are:

1) Required for UART interactions (e.g. the nRF appears to check for 'required' characteristics); 2) Available for use (e.g. I'd like to read a string of UART input). 3) I'd like to send some data from the Arduino to my phone.

Thanks!

Bluetooth "Low energy" seems to be very different than ordinary bluetooth. For one thing, there is no standard "Serial Port Profile" for exchanging serial data, leaving vendors and programmers to define their own data exchange protocols that will do the same thing, with varying degrees of proprietary-ness and secrecy. (incidentally ruining most hopes of using some standard "terminal" program on the other end. Sigh.)

Here's a page that looks like it contains a reasonable amount of info: http://support.connectblue.com/display/PRODBTSPA/Bluetooth+Low+Energy+Serial+Port+Adapter+-+Getting+Started

(The situation is ... annoying.)

(This also means that your BLE devices MUST talk to a BLE host; they won't talk to the standard BT on your laptop...) (It's not clear to me yet whether supporting BT 4 on a laptop also means being able to talk to BLE devices.)

Thanks for the pointer. I reviewed that information.

I've found the Nordic nRF documentation and BLE libraries to be very helpful.