Ardunio and MySQL

Hello all,

I've been recently looking in to a project that includes an Arduino and LEDs. The idea is that the LEDs will be activated by finding strings of text located in either a text doc, csv doc, or (hopefully) a MySQL database. Any one of those documents would be updated in real-time and it is my hope that Arduino would have the ability to read them in real-time or near real-time. I have no experience with MySQL, but I know it is possible to pipe the data being created in to a MySQL database. I guess the important question would be, is this even possible? Can you point the Arduino to any one of these files (or however MySQL is structured) and have it sift through the text for a string that would enable an LED (what would essentially be a warning). Any ideas would be appreciated.

Thanks!

With GoBetwino running on your PC (Windows only) you can have your Arduino send commands that makes GoBetwino read a line from a txt file and return the result to Arduino.

Of course you cant read and write to a txt file at the same time o a little housekeeping would be needed.

In order to extract data from mysql you'll have to write some sql scripts (on a PC). You can then send the results to the Arduino choosing a file format that is easy to parse (e.g., csv). How near real-time you can get depends on how frequently your data change, but don't expect the Arduino to be exceptionally fast. If you really have a requirement for real-time or near real-time you should concentrate the most processor intensive tasks (finding strings) on a PC, and send to the Arduino only a pre-digested stream of data.