Ardunio Project - Arduino Uno>STSPIN220> Nema 17 Stepper 2.7V 1.68A @ 1/256 Step

Hello all,

I am a complete rookie in the area of electronics but I would like to know if it's possible to control a Nema 17 Stepper 2.7V 1.68A with an Ardunio Uno connected to a STSPIN220. I thought I understood the basics, but the further I research, the more I realize I don't know. I'm all for trial and error, but I don't want to tear a rift in the fabric of space/time while I monkey about. In the end, helping me might just help save our universe (cheesy, sorry).

I've watched the DroneWorkshop YouTube channel's excellent video on steppers but I still am not clear on how to program/wire the STSPIN220 to run at a 1/256 microstep. I can see that I have to use the MODE1, MODE2, STEP/MODE3 and DIR/MODE4 to High/Low/Low/High respectively, but how do I wire that back to the Arduino and how do I code for it?

Finally, since the stepper seems to be rated at 2.7V, could I use a standard 5V powerbank to supply power, and if so, what should I be considering?

This Pololu page may be the of interest.

That driver will not supply the full current that your motor is rated for. Is there a particular reason that you chose that driver?

Hi Groundfungus (great name btw),

I was looking to connect a Arduino Uno (or most appropriate Arduino) to a Nema 17 Stepper Motor (linked). Given that I was trying to develop an equatorial mount for astrophotography, I wanted to throttle back the stepping to as low as I could go, preferably 256:1. Like I said, I watched the DroneWorkshop videos, but they didn''t address the specific requirements I was looking for.