Ardunio to Throw Powered N Scale Model Railroad Turnouts

Hey everyone, I searched and found a few things regarding this, but not as it applies to my situation. So I have just a few questions.

First, this is what I envision. A windows based control program that has a diagram of my track with all the turnouts shown. In this I can click (or tap if I decide to go with touch screen) each turnout to throw it. The color of the turnout on the screen changes and the lines change to show direction. It would be awesome if it could work in conjunction with JMRI for controlling everything.

So my first question is, what kind of output does Ardunio have. The switches are based on basic 12VDC and the manual throws simply change polarity to trow the turnout. Is this possible?

Next, what kind of programming is involved in creating this control interface? I have no programming experience at all.

Thanks!

Do you mean something like this

Change your search parameters to "arduino railway control"

Lots of completed projects out than some easier than others so you may be able to pick one almost "off the shelf" so to speak.

Rather than go big right off the bat stay small until you get to grips with things and feel comfortable with what you want to do.

Being as you run model trains there is a good chance you already have soldering irons and multimeters and the basic tools also needed for Arduino.

Yes and no. I did find that one, I dont want the total railway control, but just the ability to move my turnouts. And I want to do it from a PC.

Its all do-able.

Just a thought that it would make it a little more portable if the screen was part of the project AND touch screen.