Are multidimensional arrays the best solution for my problem?

Hi,

I’m an Arduino noob using a nano for a couple of weeks. I love it! I should have played with these years ago… I’m working on a multi LED display board using WS2811 LED strings and the FastLED library, however my question is really a C question and is unrelated to FastLED.

Apologies in advance if I’m not posting code as per forum protocol. I didn’t want to supply the entire sketch as it is fairly big.

As part of a display loop which plots different colours on the LED string, I wanted a simple function to flash all of the LEDs on the string to display a morse code message.

//Define array:

// Set up strings for morse code.
const char MORSE0 = “.- .-. - … …- .-. / … … / .- – .- --… … -. --.”; //arthur is amazing

//In the main program loop the function is called:

//DELTA_HUE, BRIGHT, START_POS, END_POS, SPEED (higher number = slower)
MorseCode(4, PLOT_NORM, 0, NUM_LEDS - 1, 150);
FastLED.delay(300);

//Morse function:
void MorseCode(uint8_t DELTA_HUE, uint8_t BRIGHT, int START_POS, int END_POS, int SPEED) {
// Print morse code. TODO - Other messages (only MORSE0 currently) and more variables (colours etc).
String CHAR;
fill_solid(leds, NUM_LEDS, 0); // Turns all LEDs off
FastLED.delay(SPEED * 7);
for (int MORSE_CHAR = 0; MORSE_CHAR < sizeof(MORSE0); MORSE_CHAR++) {
(CHAR) = MORSE0[MORSE_CHAR];
if (CHAR.equals(".")) {
RainbowWord(MORSE_CHAR * 32, DELTA_HUE, BRIGHT, START_POS, END_POS); //Displays rainbow
FastLED.delay(SPEED); //Delay
fill_solid(leds, NUM_LEDS, 0);
}
else if (CHAR.equals("-")) {
RainbowWord(MORSE_CHAR * 32, DELTA_HUE, BRIGHT, START_POS, END_POS); //Displays rainbow
FastLED.delay(SPEED * 3); //Delay
}
else if (CHAR.equals(" “)) {
FastLED.delay(SPEED); //Delay
}
else if (CHAR.equals(”/")) {
FastLED.delay(SPEED * 5);
}
FastLED.delay(SPEED);
}
FastLED.delay(SPEED * 7);
}