Are there any forbidden registers or ports when using Arduino Mega 2560

Hi !

Got my 2560 yesterday which will be used as interface for my robot which runs with a PC and C# as platform. I have some years experience with uC a couple of years ago and at that time with Infineons C166 family.

20 minutes after opening the Mega 2560 box I hade evrything runing and both run the blink example and tested sending some data to the serial monitor. This is the easiest start ever with any uC :)

Now to my question: Before I start using timers and libraries which people have sent in as example I need to ask some questions which I didn't quite found any answers on while going through the initial material and guides.

• When using the standard bootloader and development environment is there any timers, registers, ports that are occupied by the Arduino environment? Am I free to change as I wish? I will start setting up a timer with interrupt so I can have a easy scheduler running on different time-bases. Mybe use an example maybe use it myself.

• Are there any files with all registers adresses available somewhere? When using the C166 we got a file with definitions on all registers so we did't have to define ports and their regsiters by ourselves.

In many of the examples I have seen som far the programmer have started defining the registers he wanted to use... There must be a definition file to include...or

Thanks/Fred

Freddan: Now to my question:

• Are there any files with all registers adresses available somewhere? When using the C166 we got a file with definitions on all registers so we did't have to define ports and their regsiters by ourselves.

Hello Fred,