Array does not update with new input

Hey Everyone,

First off, thank you all and please excuse any dumb remarks. I’m still pretty new to all of this electronic wizardry but I’ve been trying to figure this bit out for the past solid week now. And I feel it may be some kind of declaration issue I’ve yet to come across.

I’m trying to make a plant watering system as my first project. The idea is to have a servo that moves a small hose to a position and have a motor power the water through the hose at ‘x’ position. There will be 5 positions for 5 plants. There are two arrays motordelay [how long the plant gets watered for] and servodelay [how long the servo stays in that position].

I have 5 LEDs to represent my 5 plants [I can toggle through these via ‘button’] and a red selector LED [which can be selected using ‘button2’]. So that if a plant is selected then the plant does not get watered and the motordelay will read ‘0’ for that plant.

The problem is that my if statements [from doiwaterit()] do not redefine the plant name I have in my motordelay array.

I’ve posted the code below. Again, thank you and sorry if any of this is too verbose.

#include <Servo.h> 

Servo myservo;  // create servo object to control a servo - a maximum of eight servo objects can be created 
int pos = 0;    // variable to store the servo position 
int motor = 11; // D11 = pin 11 = position 17
int angle = 36; // 36 deg. angle increments across 180 deg. e.g. 180/36=5 positions to stop at
int tranPin = 15; //Transister pin to regulate the 5V supply to the servo 

int spiderplant = 2000; // associated with LED1 so that if selectorLED is on while LED1 is on then the motordelay for spiderplant is 0 and gets no water
int motordelays[] = { 
  spiderplant,0,0,0,0}; //motordelay is to delay the motor while HIGH to supply the water to the plant - will add more plants...
int servodelays[] = {