Array of Integers Read in Runtime?

Hello all,

I am relatively new to C and coding for Arduino, so please excuse any amateurish mistakes.

I am currently doing a project which is used to move some motors based on data sent to the Arduino from a bluetooth device.

As of now, I have this working sketch which uses an integer array in a way that is similar to keyframes in animation, with each row acting as a keyframe for the position and containing the Δt to the next keyframe.

The tricky part is how I should go about filling this int array during runtime from bluetooth.

I plan to have the loop read the keyframes from bluetooth (serial) continuously and replace the current array of keyframes with the newly read information, until a button on the device is pressed at which time the motors will move according to the latest array. After the move is done, the device would return to the waiting for button state.

Data comes from bluetooth in the form of a string (Serial2.readString()):
{time, pos1, pos 2}, {time, pos1 pos2}, …

At first I was under the impression that I could just set the array of integers to contain this string, which is always formatted exactly like the keyframe information I would put into the sketch pre-compiling. However, after some research and a few failed attempts I found this will not work.

Then, I thought I could simply append the integer array like one appends a string, and add extra rows with a simple command. For this I’d send the data in a bunch of messages from serial instead of just one, in the order of the array. However, I don’t think that is how it works upon further research. I read up on dynamically sized arrays, but people on the Arduino forums seemed to advise against them due to memory issues.