Ask about sensor measuring depth river

Hello everyone, I'm still new in technology sensor, I have a small project and confusion to find the sensor for measuring the depth of the river. I've tried using the HC 04 but the sensor can not work well in damp places. so I want to ask you guys what can the Ultrasonic sensors are used to measure the depth of the river? thanks

There are some weatherproof ultrasonic sensors - I think Sparkfun sells one. You could also run a tube to the bottom of the river then bubble air in the tube and measure the pressure of the air to get the water depth, these are called "bubblers"

Hi,

Waterproof Ultrasonics are used in some car bumpers to see nearby objects.

They are available on AMaZon and other suppliers. See: THIS LINK

These have the same interface as the HC04

water depth or river height ?

fixed location or moving, such as on a boat?

dave-in-nj:
water depth or river height ?

fixed location or moving, such as on a boat?

For this case water depth and fixed location, can suggest type sensor should i use?

This is actually one of those problems that seems simple but is really truly complex.

How long does the sensor have to function? What range do you require? Do you care if the river runs dry or your sensor is destroyed by a 50-year flood?

MorganS:
This is actually one of those problems that seems simple but is really truly complex.

How long does the sensor have to function? What range do you require? Do you care if the river runs dry or your sensor is destroyed by a 50-year flood?

I would like to do research maybe around 3-4 month, for depth requirement probably about 3-4 meters, are there any suggestions for cases like this? thanks

Ultrasonic or optical then. Optical requires lens cleaning but maybe only 1 cleaning in 4 months.

Hi,

Commercial river depth "stage" gauges use a variety of sensors.

The US Geological Survey operates more than 7,000 stream gages across the US.

See: THIS REFERENCE

MorganS: