Assistance w/ multiple "if" scenarios for button usage

Thank you very much for your time.

I’m attempting to make a scoreboard for fun, but I don’t have a lot of programming experience. I built a small version initially w/ a Max7219 ic and those little seven segment displays and was able to make any changes w/ multiple if(button pushed) statements in the void loop. Had no problems.

But then I tried to make it out of WS2811 leds in the classic shape of a scoreboard and just sorta modified the code to use an array instead of the max7219’s functionality. I’ve had limited success at this point.

The leds come on in the proper shape, and I can use a for() loop to count up to 99 and it will reset on its own, but whenever I try to use the buttons, I can only get to the point where a single button works at a time. So all I can do at this point is go from 0 to 1 to 0 to 1. Pressing the same button multiple times does nothing.

Again, I have very little programming experience, so I’m sure its something dumb that I’m missing. But thank you very much, again, for your time.

Follow-up: I thought previously that if I used two if statements instead of the if and if else in the void loop(), that it didn’t work at all. Just displayed 0-0. But it turns out it works perfectly that way, as long as the other button is also depressed. Maybe its just a wiring issue?

But I’m sure you smart guys can point out something incorrect that I did in the code.

#include "FastLED.h"

#define DATA_PIN    6
#define DATA_PIN2   8
#define LED_TYPE    WS2811
#define COLOR_ORDER GRB
#define NUM_LEDS    15
#define BRIGHTNESS  40
#define FRAMES_PER_SECOND 120

#define switchone 3
#define switchtwo 2

CRGB leds[2][NUM_LEDS];
//-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
int home[][13] = {
  {0, 1, 2, 3, 5, 6, 8, 9, 11, 12, 13, 14, 14},
  {0, 5, 6, 11, 12, 12, 12, 12, 12, 12, 12, 12, 12},
  {2, 1, 0, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 14, 13, 12, 14, 14},