Assistance with engineering project

I am an undergraduate MechE tasked with an industry based project and I'm looking for some help with an Arduino circuit that can connect some components and then display to the user the outcome.
The parameters of the project:
-to take 3 distance measurements using a sensor
-take the highest value and use that to check against a list of a values (which are ranges)
-display on a sevseg a number between 1 and 6 based on the value

Any help with mostly the coding side would be appreciated ,

Thanks

To even start we need particulars of the hardware. What Arduino? What distance sensor? What display?

Hello, this is a theoretical project so any components are available, but the uno seems like the best bet. I'm really just looking for help with code to to take the highest of some inputs and check against some memory to display a certain output

Distance - are we talking “atlas”, “tape-measure”, “ruler” or “micrometer”?

code to to take the highest of some inputs

Let’s say you have an array of measurements. This will obtain the highest measurement from the array.

float measurements[] = {1.23,2.34,3.45,4.56,3.14,2.22};
float maxMeasurement = 0;

void setup()
{
   Serial.begin(115200);
   for(int n = 0; n < sizeof(measurements) / sizeof(measurements[0]); n++)
   {
      if(measurements[n] > maxMeasurement)
      {
         maxMeasurement = measurements[n];
      }
   }
   Serial.println(maxMeasurement);
}

void loop()
{

}

The array reference.
The sizeof() reference.

check against some memory to display a certain output

Not sure what that means.

if you make a flow chart it would be to read each of 3 sensors.
determine the highest value, ignore the others
compare the highest to the pre-set ranges
report digit from 0 to 6 based on above.

since this is theoretical, does the program have to work ?
will you get sensors for this ?
are you allowed to pick and choose things ?