Asynchronous fading using MsTimer instead of delay

I am writing a sketch that is meant to fade several LEDS randomly. I ran into a problem using delay() since I wanted the fading to work asynchronous - I don’t want to wait for one LED to complete it’s fade in/out before the next starts.

I started playing around with MsTimer2 to replace the delay but I can’t seem to get it working correctly. My understanding is, if I use MsTimer within a loop and set it to, say 500ms, each iteration of the loop should take at least 500ms to complete. Instead it seems the loop is completing almost immediately and then the LED just comes on to full brightness instead of fading in.

Perhaps I’m not understanding the usage of MsTimer or I have some other bonehead mistake in my code. Here is a simplified version of what I’m trying to do:

#include <MsTimer2.h>

int ledPin[] = {8, 9, 10, 11};            // pwm pins - only using pin 8 for this example
int fadeInto = 1;

void setup() {  
  // nothing to set up 
}

void fadeIn() {
  analogWrite(ledPin[1], fadeInto);      // sets the value (range from 0 to 255)
}

void loop() {   

while(fadeInto < 255){
      MsTimer2::set(500, fadeIn);        // 500ms period
      MsTimer2::start();
      fadeInto++;
   }
}

:question Can someone please enlighten me on what I’m doing wrong or not understanding :question

I’m not familiar with MsTimer2, however, I’m not sure why you even need it, or delay?

That is to say, couldn’t you simply count the amount of ms passed since you started fading, and choose the next level there? For example:

bool run_fade            = false;
unsigned long cur_tm = 0;
unsigned long pre_tm = 0;
unsigned long diff_tm = 0;

byte cur_led_lvl         = 1;

void loop()
{

if( start_fade ==  true && cur_led_lvl < 255) 
  {

if( cur_tm == 0 ) 
     {
        cur_tm = millis();
        pre_tm = cur_tm;
     }
     else 
     {
          pre_tm = cur_tm;
          cur_tm = millis();
     }

diff_tm += cur_tm - pre_tm;