At a loss, please help

Ok guys Im officially stumped with this one. Ive been trying different things for a few hours, and nothing is doing what I want. I need a system with 2 buttons, temp up and temp down, which will count from 1 to 18, once 1 or 18 is reached, it will stop counting, unless it starts moving in the other direction. I can then use the count = # to activate what I want. Ive gotten it to count up and stop at 18, but going the other direction is the issue. I will upload what I have that works. Any advice here:

Im a NOOB so go easy!! haha.

//thanks to darudude for the code for this section

int inPinUP = 23; //temp up button
int inPinDN = 25; //temp down button
int readingUP;           // the current reading from the input pin
int readingDN;
int previousUP = LOW;    // the previous reading from the input pin
int previousDN = LOW;
int count=0; //current position count

long time = 0;         // the last time the output pin was toggled
long debounce = 200;   // the debounce time, increase if the output flickers

void setup()
{
  pinMode(inPinUP, INPUT);
  pinMode(inPinDN, INPUT);
  Serial.begin (9600);
}

void loop()
{
  readingUP = digitalRead(inPinUP);

// if we just pressed the button (i.e. the input went from LOW to HIGH),
  // and we've waited long enough since the last press to ignore any noise...  
  if (readingUP == HIGH && previousUP == LOW && millis() - time > debounce) {
    //increment count
    count++;

// ... and remember when the last button press was
    time = millis();    
  }
  previousUP = readingUP;

if (count==19)
  {
    //whatever you want to do over here
    count=18; //reset count

}
  Serial.print (count, DEC);
}

just thought of another way to explain what I am trying to accomplish, basically a 2-way decade counter, that will count from 1 to 18. if that helps at all.

if (readingUP == HIGH && previousUP == LOW && millis() - time > debounce) {

Why are you trying to do everything at once? How about: