Atlas Scientific RGB Code Help

Hi,

I need some assistance with coding or rather un-coding. I have a working Atlas Scientific RGB sensor and have no problem getting the code to read the RGB values coming from the sensors. However what I need to do with the code is kicking my butt. I will add that I am not a novice Arduino user but most of what I do doesn’t require advanced methods and working with strings currently has me scratching my head.

What I am trying to do is split the RGB string coming from the sensor and assign each corresponding piece of code to a variable, for instance redval = (redstring). I am ultimatly then going to color correct this with multiplication (this I know how to do) and send each R, G, B value to a RGBLED.

I’m currently having trouble getting started. Any and all help is welcomed!

/*
This software was made to demonstrate how to quickly get your Atlas Scientific product running on the Arduino platform.
An Arduino Duemilanove board was used to test this code.
This code was written in the Arudino 1.0 IDE
Modify the code to fit your system.
Code efficacy was NOT considered, this is a demo only.
The soft serial port TX line goes to the RX pin.
The soft serial port RX line goes to the TX pin.
Make sure you also connect to power and GND pins to power and a common ground.
Data is received and re-sent through the Arduinos hardware UART TX line.
Open TOOLS > serial monitor, set the serial monitor to the correct serial port and set the baud rate to 38400.
Remember, select carriage return from the drop down menu next to the baud rate selection; not "both NL & CR".
The data from the Atlas Scientific product will come out on the serial monitor.
Type in a command in the serial monitor and the Atlas Scientific product will respond.
*/

#include <SoftwareSerial.h>                                                    //add the soft serial libray
#define rxpin 2                                                                //set the RX pin to pin 2 Green