ATMega 2560 + CP2102

After A LOT of searching, reading and so, I'm really lost at this point so I decided to ask you directly. First of all, I'm a newbie! Thank you for your help in advance.

I have a raw ATMega 2560 and a Cp2102 module which came with a chinese Arduino Pro Mini. I wanted to have "a functional Arduino Mega" (not the complete board but the minimal parts to be able to upload sketches with the Arduino IDE). But I don't know what extra components I need to do that (I'm going to design my own PCB like this one http://jkdevices.com/ATMEGA2560 and then add those extra components).

Is it possible to do this? I thought that having this Cp2102 could maybe be a good thing in this case.

Thank you.

This may help:

http://www.gammon.com.au/forum/?id=11637

I haven't done a Mega2560 bare-bones board because of the SMD soldering issue, but in principle it would be similar to the Atmega328 one. You would need a few decoupling capacitors, maybe a reset pull-up, a crystal (with caps) or resonator, and that would be about it. I would add an ICSP header for programming. The CP2102 would be handy for programming directly from the IDE.

Thank you for your reply, Nick.

I'm checking your site right now. So I'm going to design the PCB with the components you said. I'll post the schematic here before insolating the pcb to avoid stupid errors!

Thank you again.

Nick!

Searching on the internet I found a schematic which I think is exactly what I’m looking for. Could you please tell me if there’s something not needed or missing? If I’m not wrong it has everything you said (and your site explains), but just to make sure!

Thank you in advance!

ATMega2560_Schematic.pdf (85.2 KB)

I don’t consider that the easiest to read, due to the use of the PINBUS lines.