ATmega 328P-U vs. ATmega 328P-PU with Arduino bootloader

I am a noob to the microelectronics world so if my question is stupid, please take into account my complete lack of reference for microelectronics and Arduino boards in particular.

I have two Arduino UNOs both of which I now believe to be clones. On one of the ATmega chips it says; "ATmega 328P-U," (a blue board with the small gold label "50th") and the other, an "ATmega 328P-PU" (green board with the Arduino sideways "eight") which I understood to have the Arduino bootloader.

Neither one of the clone boards has been completely successful in downloading the IDE on two separate computer software programs, Windows 10 and Mac OS - Mountain Lion.

Is it the clone board that are letting me down or is it me?

Those parts are the same, microchip just changed how they mark the DIP packages from PU to U.

The only thing that makes any difference about clone boards is which serial chip they have.

IIRC there's some sordid story about drivers on recent MacOS versions for boards with CH340G - like, there were a couple of OS updates which each required a new version of the drivers for the CH340G. I thought on latest OS couple of versions, that was sorted though. But that version is kind of old right?

delta288: Neither one of the clone boards has been completely successful in downloading the IDE on two separate computer software programs, Windows 10 and Mac OS - Mountain Lion.

I'm a n00b myself, but can you clarify the problem? From what you write it sounds like you cannot download the Arduino IDE (software you use to write the Sketches) software, but I'm guessing you are having problems with uploading the sketch to the Arduino clones?