ATmega1284p burning using arduino as ISP

Hello everyone! I am an arduino user since the NG boards back in the day. Though it's my first time on the forum. I need some help getting arduino as isp working with brand new Atmega1284p chips. Here's the scenario - I have the following things available to me - 1. Arduino Nano's - around 2-3 2. Arduino Mega 2560 3. arduino Uno 4. Arduino Duemilanove 5. If i dig around I might be able to find arduino pro and NG

Normally I use AVR ISP mk II with AVR's but Unfortunately my device was in my bag when it got stolen a month or so back. I cannot get another one anytime soon (Ive placed an order for one, will take at least a week to reach, most probably more) due to my location. Anyways I was trying to get Arduino ISP to work with my 1284p's ... I tried burning some blink codes (AVR) to it via AVRDUDESS, couldn't get it to work. Always had stk_500 errors. I tried adding a resistor between RST and +5 (150 ohm) but that didn't work. Tried with a cap between RST and GND, that didn't work. I ensured that the heartbeat delay was 20 ms. Is there something I'm missing out? I can get this device https://www.sparkfun.com/products/9825 if it can solve the problem fast. Also is there any chances that although I'm getting stk500 errors the new chip's fuses have been set and i've been locked out. Really appreciate any help, Regards

You might read this page, this scheme works for 1284P chips as well as for 328 chips, you just need to select the proper board in the IDE and burn the ArduinoISP sketch into your host board - UNO is easy to use. http://arduino.cc/en/Tutorial/ArduinoISP

Hey, thanks for the quick reply... I've read through the page already, I used to burn atmega328p and atmega168 chips using this method before, but i've only used it for that before this. If you have a new atmega1284p, can you directly program it in a 16Mhz crystal + caps setup directly without programming fuses first, at lets say a slower speed? Thanks in advance