ATmega16 trouble shooting

HI,

This is my first post. I am fairly new to the world of MPU's and such and I am actually trying to trouble shoot a PCB I have with an ATmega16 au chip in it.

This board was functioning properly then stopped one day when I powered the board. When I say stopped I mean it acted as though there was no power to it. no led indicators, no displays, no relays, nothing.
I checked to ensure that the AT-mega16 was receiving the proper voltage at each of the VCC pins described on the data sheet, which it was. I checked all of the other powered components and they too seemed to be getting the proper voltages, and yet nothing was working.

I started to suspect that the crystal was bad on the XTAL1 and XTAL2 circuit because while I was checking for voltages I touched that circuit with the leads on my multimeter and for a split second the board would function, then shut down again. I assumed the crystal was bad so I replaced it.

After replacing the crystal in the oscillator circuit there was no change in the board. So, I temporarily jumpered across the legs of the crystal while the board was powered and the board started show signs of life again.

I see that these circuits typically have small capacitors between each leg of the crystal and the ground and I am assuming that is used to stabilize the signal, could these be the problem?

if anyone has a suggestion let me know, I don't really want to spend the $2000 on a new board if its something small I can replace at home.

I appreciate any advice you have. Thanks!

Show us a good schematic of your proposed circuit.
Show us a good image of your ‘actual’ wiring.
Give links to components.

Hi LarryD,

Thanks, I have uploaded a picture of the board. I don't have a schematic as this is a board from my Miller TIG welder and I cannot find one.

Please check the voltage on the controller’s power pins.

Also check the voltage on the reset pin.

All 4 of the VCC pins were showing 5vdc +-0.01vdc.