atmega168(v) + L293D + DC motor

Hello,

I'm new to this forum and I'm also new to working on projects with micro-controllers and I hope I can get some help here. Thank you all in advance.

The project I am working on would require the start/stop & direction of motion of a motor to be controlled based upon some calculations. As for motor speed, the maximum I need should be 1rev/day and it would be great if I could also control this with the controller.

After some research, I am thinking of interfacing the Atmega168 micro-controller with the DC motor using the L293D H-Bridge. But before going on to buy the parts, I want to make sure that it would work out esp. that the Atmega168 micro-controller is sufficient for my needs. So, my main question is "What specifications are most important in choosing a micro-controller?"

Here are a few things I have considered: - Input / Output pins: I beleive I'll need between 0-3 input pins and 3 ouput pins (the L293D chip requires only 3 inputs to control one motor). It seems the Atmega168 has 23 pins which should be way more than enough. - Speed: Low speed should be sufficient. - Memory: I have found part of the code for the calculation I need in Javascript (13.5KB) and in C# (about 5KB) but I would have to add some code to this and this is what worries me most - whether the 16K flash memory of the Atmega168 would be sufficient for all the code I need to put on it especially if I were to migrate the code I found to C or assembly language and add what I need to add. [Does the controller accept code in any language other than C or assembly?]

Lastly, is there anything I should watch out for in using the L293D to interface with the DC motor?

Thanks a lot for you help, Sadiq.

Sorry, one last thing: I found the Atmega168V is slower than the Atmega168. Since low speed should be enough for me, I guess I can get the Atmega168V instead of the Atmega168V - is this a correct assumption?

I'm sorry but two other things I needed to ask: