Atmega8 Internatl Oscillator-Can upload sketch only once

Hello

I am relatively new to the Arduino. I have been tinkering around with a few Atmega8 chips I had and thought of running them using the Arduino bootloader with its built-in oscillator. I have used the following thread as a reference

For some reason, the optiboot version which uses a baudrate of 9600 doesn't work with me at all as I am not able to upload anything. I get the avrdude out of sync error.

For the first one put up in comment 3, I can upload a sketch but only once i.e. right after I have put up the bootloader. Inorder to upload a new sketch I am needing to upload the bootloader again.

I dont think this should be happening right? I get the avrdude out of sync error after I tried to upload some sketch after the first one.

Can anybody guide me on this?

Thanks.

Yes, I can think of 2 things for you to look into:

1. When you install the bootloader, it runs continuously, so auto reset is not particularly important and the first upload will work. For the second upload, manually reset your MCU with a button between GND and RESET, tapping it at the beginning of upload. If that works, then it means you don’t have a working auto reset circuit. An auto reset circuit consists of a 10K pullup resistor between VCC and RESET, and a 0.1uF capacitor between your FTDI’s DTR pin and the MCU’s RESET pin. Or omit that extra circuitry and just do manual resets for new uploads.