Atmel 328 chip dead?

Hi all!

I'm working on a project using the Atmel 328 the same as the Arduino UNO. I started with a prototype on an arduino - liked it - then decided to take it to a custom PC board with a 328P-PU and eliminate the extra components (USB, power jack, etc.) and then program using Atmel Studio 6.0 and an mkII tool....don't want to feel guilty if I sell these things.

I bought all new components, made the board, put it together and couldn't get the tool to even recognize the chip...assumed bad wiring..traced and verified all good...resorted to prying the chip out of my arduino and putting my new chip in it's place...nothing..put my Arduino in my custom board (livin on the edge) and wa la ... it works?!?!

My questions...Did I get a dead chip from Digikey or am I missing something? This is my first project with a micro controller so I'm new at this...is there a trick to initializing a new controller? Seems to me there were two chips available, one with the Arduino bootloader preloaded...should I have bought the other chip?

PJP

did you set the fuses?

(and you should not feel bad about selling it using arduino software, though if you look at the license you may have to meet requirements)

Can't even get the chip to ID using the mkII tool. Have to get past that step to set fuses I think...unless there is another way in?

The arduino UNO chip works when placed in my board or in the original UNO board - I can see it's fuse settings.
The new chip doesn't work in either- not even a chip ID

What are the odds that the first chip I get is a dud?

rvflier:
What are the odds that the first chip I get is a dud?