Attempting to build warm stage for microscope - New to Arduino/electronics

Hey all,

I am trying to make a warm stage for an inverted microscope - basically its a method to keep live cell samples at body temperature (37C) whilst running assays. I plan to use an LM35 and two heat pads from Sparkfun (with MOSFET) to supply the heat. Im hoping the LM35 will be suitable to measure temp accurately enough and switch on/off the pads in response to correct temp. I aim to work in temps between 35C and 45C.

Full disclosure: totally new to arduino (have run through some of the basic tutorials) and electronics in general. I'm a scientist by training (parasitology), but fond of taking a McGyver approach to save costs - basically we don't have the £10,000+ to buy a professional temp controlled stage/chamber. I had been reading up on many of the brewing solutions for temp controlling, but would really like to keep it as simple as possible.

Cheers

You may encounter problems with delays, because the temperature of the probe will increase or decrease slowly, not immediately when the heaters are switched on/off. The placement of the sensor is important, so that it will reflect the temperature of the probe, not that of the heaters or other material.

Eventually you can use two temperature sensors, to measure both the temperature of the heaters and the probe. In the best case you'll get a somewhat constant difference between the heater and probe temperature, so that you can increase/decrease the heater temperature by the difference of the actual and intended temperature of the probe.

Please provide an sketch of your intended device, with the placement of the heaters and sensors, and which materials are used between the heaters and the probe.