Attiny 1Mhz workaround for incorrect delayMicroseconds()

In case anyone is interested …

For some reason best known to itself this code works properly on an Attiny at 1MHz and gives a delay of 8 seconds

unsigned long startMicros = micros();
    while (micros() - startMicros < 8000000) {
    }

BUT … delayMicroseconds(8000000) gives a strange result that isn’t quite 1/8th of 8 seconds.

This problem has been identified elsewhere and reported as a bug but I have seen no sign of a solution.

The following workaround seems to work as an alternative to delayMicroseconds() and should work at any CPU speed on any device

void delayUsecs(unsigned long waitUsecs) {
    unsigned long startUsecs = micros();
    while (micros() - startUsecs < waitUsecs) {

}
}

…R

Hi Robin,

The problem with your code is that even on a 16Mhz UNO the stepsize of micros() is 4 usec. I have very little experience with 1Mhz Attiny's but I expect that the stepsize of micros() is larger or at least the same. For large values your code will work fine, for small values which are not a multiple of 4 (or ?) it will not be accurate. Still, if this works for you, it is OK.

The goal of delayMicroseconds() is to have delays in the order of 0..10000 usec and often used in the 0..50uSec. range e.g. for handshakes and IO protocols. For this application delayMicroseconds() works quite well as it can make steps of (approx) 1 uSec.

BUT ... delayMicroseconds(8000000) gives a strange result that isn't quite 1/8th of 8 seconds.

note that the signature expects uint16_t not a uint32_t so it is truncated to 65535 max

void delayMicroseconds(unsigned int us)

Can you determine the step size of micros() on your 1Mhz attiny?

Robin2:
BUT ... delayMicroseconds(8000000) gives a strange result that isn't quite 1/8th of 8 seconds.

See this comment in the documentation for delayMicroseconds():

Currently, the largest value that will produce an accurate delay is 16383.