ATtiny programmer and protoyping PCB - schematic review

I’ve taken the plunge on a project to learn about designing a PCB, which I’ve never tried before. I’m using EasyEDA. (I know there are ready-made boards to do similar things to what’s described, but I wanted a learning experience.)

Project goals:

• Create a PCB where a Nano can program an ATtiny84 or ATtiny85 (obviously only one at a time!!)
  • Use the same PCB to allow prototype testing of the ATtiny chip that was programmed

Implementation:

• The nano will be mounted into female headers on PCB so it can be removed/swapped out as needed.

• For programming, the Nano will be connected via USB to my computer. The Nano is connected via SPI/ICSP to 2 sockets to accommodate the different sized chips.

• I will have 2 IC sockets on the board to set either type of ATtiny chip, depending on the chip type.

• To minimize chip movement and to also enable prototype testing after programming, I’ve connected headers to the pinouts of the ATtiny chips. That way I can connect them to a project breadboard etc for testing/debugging.

Attached is the schematic I’ve done for the project.

Before I start routing all the tracks on the PCB model, I want to make sure I haven’t goofed anything major. (it’s my first ever schematic - please be gentle!)

A couple of questions/things to note:

1. I put a diode (D1) on the +5V pin of the Nano. My theory here is to allow the Nano to power the ATtiny during ISP programming, but I want to power off the Nano by disconnecting its onboard USB, and then supply external power to the PCB to power the ATtiny chip (via either the PCB-mounted USB-B or the power header #### ) bypassing the Nano. I had an instinct that I should only power the ATtiny chip and not the Nano during prototype testing of the chip given all the SPI connections, but I’m not sure if this is necessary. Is it?