ATtiny13A Fast PWM

I am a complete newbie to Arduino and AVR programming (please don’t groan).

I have working code but do not understand the ATiny13A datasheet page 79 table 11-8 Waveform Generation Mode Bit Description.

I am using Fast PWM with the ORCA value to control the pulse width. From the table it looks like I should be selecting mode 7 but if I set WGM02, WGM01, WGM00, I get no waveform from the pin. If I clear WGM02 and set WGM01 and WGM00, (mode 3), I get the waveform at the pin. But this looks like the TOP value is 0xFF rather than the OCRA I am using.

Please could you explain how I have misunderstood the data sheet.

Best regards

When WGM02, WGM01, WGM00 is set, the TOP value of the timer is controlled by OCRA.
That is, the timer count increments from 0 to the value of OCR2A and returns to 0.
This allows you to control the frequency, but OCRB must be used for waveform output.
The OCRB value must be between 0 and OCRA.
Because it is the PWM duty.

Thanks, I’ll have a play (sounds a bit like Phase Correct but I know it must be different).

Space is a bit tight in there - I’m at 94% but that’s still with the boot loader in place - working out how to circumvent this will certainly pass the hours!! Time to build a 3v hardware harness and see just how effective my power saving attempts were.

Did you remember that WGM00 and WGM01 are in TCCR0A but WGM02 is in TCCR0B? That one has bitten me before.

Hi Chris
I think the penny is dropping. Are you saying that with PWM mode 7 (WGM02, WGM01, WGM00 set), I can user OCR0A to define TOP to control the counter timer frequency (I can only get to 150Hz or 37Hz with pre-scalers) and then use OCR0B to control the duty cycle for a PWM signal on PB1 (MISO/AIN1/OC0B/INT0/PCINT1)?
If this is the case may I also define PB0 (MOSI/AIN0/OC0A/PCINT0) as a digital input pin?
If all this stacks up, it’s time for me to move away from my ATtiny dev board as that has a button on PB1 and an LED (currently my PWM signal) on PB0.