Attiny85 Pin2 (SCK) detects (non existing) input

Hi,

I'm not really experienced when it comes to electronics, but I've used the Attiny in some projects. For this project, I wanted to read a buttonstate via Pin 2, but that doesn't work. The pin always detects an input even if the button is not pressed. It's quite an easy setup (one button, one led) and it works if I use other Pins. I tried two Attinys, both show the same effect. So I guess it has something to do with this pin being the serial clock pin?

Here the corresponding code (not the most complex one)

const int LED_PIN = 4; const int BUTTON_PIN = 2;

void setup() { pinMode(BUTTON_PIN, INPUT); pinMode(LED_PIN, OUTPUT); }

void loop() { if(digitalRead(BUTTON_PIN) == HIGH ){ digitalWrite(LED_PIN, HIGH); }else{ digitalWrite(LED_PIN, LOW); } }

Why does it behave that way?

Also if I touch a pin that reads digital input (doesn't matter if Pin 2 or 3 for example) with some object (doesn't matter if metal, paper or plastics), it detects an input

With just eyeballs and a brain I can tell your code will not compile. Code that compiles would be a good starting point.

Sorry, simpliefied the code and forgot to change a variable name

If nothing is connected to BUTTON_PIN, then the pin is floating, and its behavior is unpredictable. Try using INPUT_PULLUP instead of INPUT.

AljoSt: Hi,

I'm not really experienced when it comes to electronics, but I've used the Attiny in some projects. For this project, I wanted to read a buttonstate via Pin 2, but that doesn't work. The pin always detects an input even if the button is not pressed. It's quite an easy setup (one button, one led) and it works if I use other Pins. I tried two Attinys, both show the same effect. So I guess it has something to do with this pin being the serial clock pin?

Here the corresponding code (not the most complex one)

const int LED_PIN = 4; const int BUTTON_PIN = 2;

void setup() { pinMode(BUTTON_PIN, INPUT); pinMode(LED_PIN, OUTPUT); }