Attiny85 "shrinkifiying" problem... so frustrating

hi!, this is my first post at arduino forum, i hope is a simple question... i was trying to make that attiny programming thing, i followed all the high-low tech steps, but i cant get it to work, getting instead this error:

avrdude: stk500_getsync(): not in sync: resp=0xe0

im using attiny 85 20 PU; and the whole problem sounds to me that 'he' needs an external clock which i'm not using; anyway; in it's datasheet said that this chip has actually two timers. im completely confused; i have some experience in programming, but none in electronics and pic's. I need urgently someone to help me on what i'm doing wrong. I have searched a lot in internet, but as a demi-new technique, i can only find expert's texts for experts... thanks very much in advance

ArduinoISP version?

Board?

How did you disable auto-reset?

it is the 1.01... think it's the one said in the manual. the reset technique is also the same as told in tthet manual: a 10uf condensor between reset and GND... i've been keeping the tries over and over, getting now this exciting new error:

avrdude: usbdev_open(): did not find any USB device "usb"

i'm i right using no external clock for the attiny, and using the attiny85(external 20 mhz clock) selection?

Hi Joaquin,

Firstly, just to set your mind at ease, once you get this going it will be 2nd nature. I've found the Arduino-tiny core to be more forgiving (here) than the one you've cited, but your mileage may vary.

Second, there's no need for any external clock unless you absolutely need one - and since that would use 2 of the legs I'd avoid that. So unless you've set up your ATtiny to expect an external clock source the issue is elsewhere.

I may be wrong, but I typically take that error message to mean there's no response coming back from the target chip. There are a few things to check that you've completed.