Attiny85 SoftwareSerial and Pin Change Interrupt Not Working

Hello,

I’ve been having issues programming an Attiny85, on a breadboard using an Arduino Uno as ISP. This is my first attempt at programming an Attiny.

Basically, I want the Attiny85 to count the elapsed time between two pin change rising events of a square wave (a crankshaft sensor that gives out a fast square wave with intervals between rising edges of 1400 to 200 microseconds).

The Attiny is connected to the signal using an optocoupler, and the optocoupler is connected to pin PB1. The optocoupler is working, I’ve connected a scope to it at the Attiny’s intended PB1 input pin, and it looks fine.

And I would like to see what the Attiny is doing, by having a calculated average of the rising pin change intervals printed out, for now, via serial monitor.

RX and TX are connected to pins 3 and 4 on the Attiny, as in my code.

So far, neither of these two things is working. Neither does the Attiny seem to bother wanting to execute the pin change ISR, nor does it give out anything on the serial monitor.

All I get when I call up the Serial Monitor is one character, a “ÿ”, and only once. I’ve made sure that the baud rate is the same as in my code, so that can’t be the problem. I’ve connected a 220 ohm resistor between the Attiny’s designated TX pin no.4 and the Arduino board’s TX pin. The Attiny’s speed is set to 8 MHz internal.

Sketches upload fine though with the Arduino IDE, with no error messages.

As far as I understand, I can’t just use the external interrupt on pin 2 and listen for RISING edges, because that pin is needed to program the Attiny with my Arduino Uno, right?

Here’s my code:

#include <SoftwareSerial.h>
#include <avr/interrupt.h>

#define crankshaft PB1
#define led 0

// Defining mySerial Rx and Tx Pins

const int Rx = 3;
const int Tx = 4;

SoftwareSerial mySerial(Rx, Tx);

// Crankshaft Interval Calculation Variables

volatile unsigned long crankRisingTimestamp = micros();