Audio Installation using sensors!

Hey guys!!

fair warning going into this - I KNOW NOTHING! but I'm eager to learn!

I've been given an opportunity to be apart of an adaptive audio installation and in a cheap way create sound effect upon triggering some kind of sensor and I was thinking that an Arduino unit would be perfect for this. I was hoping you guys could give me a hint if I'm headed in the right direction.

the idea:
okay, so the idea is to have an Arduino unit with an audio shield (?) on top and be able to take the input from say a motion sensor and trigger a sound effect on the stored SD card that would then be output'd into a set of active speakers using a regular old audio jack (3,5mm)

the concept is pretty simple, however I want to use the MAX/MSP as the "audio plattform" as I have some experience with that on the PC/mac.

and before going out and buying the things i want to know if you guys have any tips or any better ideas of how to acheive a better sound installation.

so, some questions are:
1.is this a valid concept?
2.are there any other sensors that could be used except motion? to trigger when someone enters the room (kinda)
3. is there any limitations with using the Arduino unit in this way?
4. how far away can the unit be from the actual speakers and sensor?

I'd love to hear from you guys! please help :D:D

Best regards
Jesper

okay, so the idea is to have an Arduino unit with an audio shield (?) on top and be able to take the input from say a motion sensor and trigger a sound effect on the stored SD card that would then be output'd into a set of active speakers using a regular old audio jack (3,5mm)

1.is this a valid concept?

Yes.

2.are there any other sensors that could be used except motion? to trigger when someone enters the room (kinda)