Audio Limiter

Hello !
I am completely new to electronics/arduino, but I have some programming knowledge. I have an audio "limiter" project in my mind. The program would be this simple :

• Takes an analog audio input (from a jack plug)
  • Check if it is below a certain threshold (determinated by a knob)
    ->> If yes, then output the exact same input to the headphone
    ->> If no, then output the threshold value to the headphone

So basically I want to cut everything that goes over a certain threshold (I am aware it will create clipping).

Here are my questions:

• Which module is needed to read the two analog inputs of a jack (as it is stereo) and output to another jack ? (I read that the arduino can't output analog)
  • Will this create latency ? Does adding programmable leds/switch contribute to adding audio latency ?
  • Is an arduino strong enough to run this, as it should run the program 44 100 times per second (a good bitrate) ? If yes, then what arduino model should I get ?

That was a lot of questions, any help would be greatly appreciated!
Thank you :smiley:

None of the arduinos are powerful enough to handle 44kHz 16 bit audio.
However there are I2C modules („digital potentiometers“) which can be controlled by an arduino.
You can use the analog input of an arduino to measure the level of the signal. No extra module needed. You simply „split“ the signal, no electronic parts needed. One branch goes to the analog input. The other branch goes to input of the digital pot. The arduino then sets the volume of the digital pot module
See here for some digital pot chips / modules.
https://forum.arduino.cc/index.php?topic=391969.msg2698953#msg2698953

Thomas

No, normal Arduinos cannot do this. Their ADC is not fast enough for high sample rates, the bit depth is way too low for audio applications, and most Arduinos do not have an analog output.